Growing the Greenbelt to Waterloo Region

Growing the Greenbelt to Waterloo Region

Entering The Greenbelt Sign
The Greenbelt Sign flickr photo by Jimmy Emerson (Creative Commons BY-ND)

Provincial Greenbelt Expansion

Province Seeking Public Input to Protect Important Water Resources

Ontario is taking action to protect important water resources in the Greater Golden Horseshoe by launching a public consultation on expanding the province's Greenbelt. The province is considering expanding the Greenbelt to include areas in the outer ring of the Greater Golden Horseshoe, an area that is experiencing significant growth and is under pressure from urban development.

The public, municipalities, conservation authorities, stakeholders, and Indigenous communities and organizations are invited to provide input on a study area for potential Greenbelt expansion. The consultation comprises seven areas most in need of protection, including moraines, cold water streams and wetlands such as the Waterloo Moraine, the Paris-Galt Moraine, the Orangeville Moraine, the Oro Moraine, the Minesing Wetland and other valuable water resources that communities rely on for their water supply.

Comments may be submitted at www.ontario.ca/greenbelt, and letters of support should be sent directly to political leaders, or via www.protectourwaters.ca or at an upcoming Open House Meeting before March 7th, 2018.

Open House Meeting

Participate at a public open house being held in the Greater Golden Horseshoe study area. The dates, times and venue locations are subject to change and periodic updates may occur. Please check back often to review the most current information at http://www.mah.gov.on.ca/Page17641.aspx

The local open house is at:

Tannery Event Centre
151 Charles Street West
Kitchener

Thursday, February 22, 2018
5:30-8:00pm

Map of Study Areas

To see a map showing the areas being studied for expansion see:

Study Area - Coldwater Streams and Wetlands.

Voice your support before March 7th at: www.ontario.ca/greenbelt, www.protectourwaters.ca and https://ontarionature.good.do/bluebelt/sign/

Region of Waterloo
http://www.regionofwaterloo.ca/en/regionalGovernment/contact-regional-council.asp

Regional Chair Ken Seiling – (519) 575-4585 – kseiling@regionofwaterloo.ca
Regional Planning and Works Chair Tom Galloway – tgalloway@regionofwaterloo.ca
All of Council – regionalcouncillors@regionofwaterloo.ca

Local MPP’s and Premier
Daiene Vernile – (519) 579-5460 – dvernile.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org
Kathryn McGarry – (519) 623-5852 – kmcgarry.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org
Catherine Fife – (519) 725-3477 – cfife-co@ndp.on.ca
Michael Harris – (519) 954-8679 – michael.harris@pc.ola.org
Ted Arnott – (519) 787-5247 – ted.arnott@pc.ola.org
Kathleen Wynne – (416) 325-1941 – kwynne.mpp@liberal.ola.org